#Momerology on #FashionFriday

I have worked in the TV business now for more than 15 years. I’ve been young and single, married with no kids, and a mom 3-times over in that span of time. I have also gone through every type of fashion transformation you can imagine, all on camera:1-W2kgkoiWnG_gXkCffyDrsg

“Making No Money” fashion

“Some Money In My Pocket But Saving For Our First House” fashion

“My Body Is Doing Weird Things Since Having Baby #3” fashion

and my least favorite “Am I Too Old To Pull Off This Look?” fashion

Billy Crystal’s SNL character, Fernando, said it best…maybe? 😀

In a nutshell, here’s the culmination of what I’ve learned thus far, my evolved philosophy, regarding workplace wardrobe:

  1. The sooner you figure out what works for your body type AND your age, the better.
  2. That process can’t happen fast enough and is often painful (see photo below)
  3. BUT having fun with fashion and putting on WHAT MAKES YOU FEEL GOOD is ultimately what is most important. You’ll automatically look your best and BE at your best when you do!

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 11.14.05 AMI was almost 23 when I landed my first on-air job. I felt I needed to (and was told) look older than I was so I could appear more authoritative. This is what I came up with. Not my best fashion moment.

I have also been asked quite often over the years about clothes: where I get them, what designer, why oh why would I ever wear that, etc. What I’d like to do, now that I have a forum to do so, is post Outfits of the Week with details (things like brand name and a link to buy if it’s a recent purchase). Anaridis Rodriguez, my co-anchor and AMHQ partner-in-crime (I’ll also add “Sister From Another Mister” to her title), often exchange information about what we’re wearing like girlfriends do! So, I’ve included her in this #FashionFriday idea. Let me know if you like this, want more of it, hate it, whatever. I of course hope you like!

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 11.24.30 AMMe: Shoshanna Becky Sweater Dress, Ralph Lauren shoes (from TJ Maxx); Anaridis: Zara top

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 11.26.11 AMMe: Nanette Lepore Feelin’ Lucky dress, necklace by J. Crew; Anaridis: top by Marc Jacobs, skirt by Banana Republic

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 11.29.07 AMAnarids: top by Ann Taylor Loft, skirt by Banana Republic

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 11.29.59 AMMe: dress by Tahari, shoes by Steve Madden; Anaridis: top by Ann Taylor Loft, skirt by Reiss

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 11.30.53 AMMe: shoes and dress by Tahari; necklace from Target; Anaridis: top by Express, skirt by Valerie Bertinelli

Leave a Reply

